The Leonardo Award

Inspired by the Renaissance inventor, writer, printer and sculptor, the SMPS San Antonio chapter presents the Leonardo Award to recognize a current member who has demonstrated excellence in marketing creativity and innovation as it relates to the built environment. The recipient of the Leonardo Award is announced at the Evening of Excellence Awards Ceremony.

2018 Recipient

Katherine McGuyre, Facility Programming and Consulting

As Chief Business Development and Marketing Officer, Katherine is a passionate ambassador for the value of programming and provides leadership in various roles within the firm. Her imaginative marketing campaigns and impactful strategies are tailored to each potential client, forging relationships with many allies and numerous competitors. She relishes in connecting professionals across disciplines and is a trusted advisor to many teaming partners. Her winning insights and critiques for team presentations create effective and dynamic marketing opportunities for everyone involved. She has been an active member of SMPS since 2000 and has served in various roles for the San Antonio Chapter.

Past Recipients

2018 Katherine McGuyre, Facility Programming and Consulting
2017 Louis Rowe, Jacobs
2016 Sally Smith, Marmon Mok
2014 Eva Ramirez, RVK
2013 Nancy Parker, Pape-Dawson Engineers
Melodye Tomsu, SpawGlass
2012 Maggie Seay, Emerald Fox Marketing
2011 Rebecca Mansfield, Cadence McShane Construction Co.
2009 Joe Irizarry, Raba Kistner
2008 Kirk Kistner, Bartlett Cocke General Contractors


Who can apply?

Nominees should meet the following criteria:

  • Minimum ten years of marketing and/or business development experience, including five years specific to the A/E/C industry.
  • Applicant must be a past or current member of SMPS or work in a firm that supports SMPS with a current member.
  • Will have made a great impact on their respective organizations and the profession.

How to Apply

Now accepting 2019 nominations!

To be considered for the Leonardo Award, nominees are required to prepare four printed submittals, which should be prepared as simple packages. A committee made up of representatives from the A/E/C community, including past SMPS San Antonio Leonardo Award recipients will review and voted on the nominations. Short-listed nominees will be invited to interview with the selection committee. The selected recipient will be announced at the Evening of Excellence Awards Ceremony.

Submission Requirements